KC Water Heaters
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 stars based on 20 review.
14/01/2017
10 months ago


Chase was very professional and down right a nice guy. He knows his trade very well. He made some changes that were incorrect by the previous owner/serviceman. Hot water heater died in the morning and he was here within 2 hours to get our new one install. Highly recommended!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/07/2016
1 year ago


Chase did a great job of explaining what we needed and in replacing our water heater in a timely manner. Thank you!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
06/07/2016
1 year ago


Chase provided me an accurate quote for a new water heater and installation over the phone, then arrived promptly the next day ready to install. He was very thorough and did a great job explaining the process with me as he worked. He completed the job in around two hours, and did an excellent job cleaning up afterwards. I have struggled to find reliable plumbing service in town that isn't interesting in upselling the customer at every turn, and I finally found a quality business in KC Water Heaters. Great pricing on services and installation and prompt and polite service.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
27/05/2016
1 year ago


Chase was great! Really explained everything well for a "layperson," was friendly, explained my options so I could make an informed decision, etc. Great service!!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
06/05/2016
1 year ago


If you are looking for expert service at a reasonable price, you need to call KC Water Heater. Chase was prompt, efficient, personable, and really knows his stuff. You are not going to get this through the big box stores, which will overcharge you for much inferior service.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
02/04/2016
1 year ago


Service was quick. The work was professional. Positive experience!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
06/03/2016
1 year ago


Chase was great. We had a very professional installation of the gas water heater with PROPER venting our family can have confidence in and explaining about the PRV at our home's water shut off and why pressure was important. My husband tells me I always have "too many" questions but Chase pleasantly answered every single one, never making me feel like I was interrupting his work. I learned a lot and feel like our system will be better maintained because of the time he took. Fantastic customer service!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/01/2016
1 year ago


Chase was very knowledgeable and friendly. He did a very nice job on the install. I would recommended this company.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


chase was very knowledgeable and nice to talk to. very professional and went above and beyond, replace valves that could have stayed in system. gave good instruction for maintenance would highly recommend KC water heaters
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


KC Water Heaters was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. He took the time to explain everything he is doing and told me everything about the product that I needed to know. I will definitely use KC Water Heater again.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


I am satisfied with the experience and knowledge that Chase Thompson has about water heaters. Chase answered all my questions and took the time to make sure that I understood. If I did not, he did not hesitate to explain things in a way that would allow me to comprehend the information. I did not realize that it had been 20 years since the purchase and installation of the old water heater. I am satisfied with the brand name of A. O. Smith, and I was able to replace the old one with a new A. O. Smith Water Heater. The only change I made was I increased the size from 40 gallons to 50 gallons. My old water heater always ran out of hot water. Especially, if anyone took a bath and not a shower.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


Chase made very good impression from the time we talked on the phone, until the job was completed. I give him 5 stars on everything. A job well done.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


Chase did what it took to get the job done right. Got a good quality hot water heater installed for competitive price.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


Excellent on every part of the process.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


Chase explained my options clearly and he did not use high pressure sales tactics. Chase was friendly, extremely professional and knowledgeable. The response time was quick, the install was neat and the water heater is working! I would definitely recommend KC Water Heaters services to my family and friends, and would use their services again.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


I was very pleased with this professional's knowledge, the time he took to explain everything, answer my questions, his promptness and friendly manner. I highly recommend KC Water Heaters.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


He fully explained the problem and why it was happening. He was conscientious of our home and is very courteous and knowledgeable. He made sure everything was done to the highest standard he could.
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


Chase provided superior customer service. When working with a water system that is 22 years old, you never know what can happen. Chase was able to overcome every issue without a struggle. He even resolved other minor plumbing issues while on site. Excellent service man!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


I had a great experience with KC Water Heater. Chase was prompt, efficient, and honest. He explained things clearly and was extremely knowledgeable. He went above and beyond and I'd recommend him in a heartbeat!
KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
30/11/-0001


KC Water Heaters
5 / 5 stars
Overall Experience
Product Knowledge
Punctuality
Quality of work
Job Checkins
2 months ago
The old Kenmore water heater had a failed gas valve and the TP line was dripping. The venting was incredibly dangerous, there were holes in the flue and it appeared a wall was built before the house was sold to hide the bad venting.
The venting for the furnace and water heater was totally replaced. The single wall pipe was replaced with double wall. The orientation of the pipe was redone and the water pressure was also addressed. New PRV, expansion tank, and venting on this install.
2 months ago
The old water heater had an improper venting configuration. The water pressure was also much higher than it was suppose to be. The vent for the water heater went from 6" to 3" which is against code.
The gas line was updated with a new shutoff and drip leg and also hard piped. The vent was replaced to 4" and the old wye from the furnace was removed. There was also a 1' rise off the top of the tank that was added. A new PRV and thermal expansion tank was also installed.
10 months ago
The old water heater was only about 10 years old and had been leaking from the bottom of the tank. Probably would have lasted longer if the softener was not installed.
New thermal expansion tank installed and set to 75 psi. Water pressure set to 73 psi. Flue was corrected and section was replaced.
1 year ago
Old Bradford White leaking from the bottom of the tank.
New AO Smith installed along with thermal expansion tank.
1 year ago
The old water heater was about 20 years old and made it all this time without the need for an expansion tank. The incoming pressure was only 65 psi.
The PRV was removed and the new water heater was installed without a thermal expansion tank.
1 year ago
The old 40 gallon Bradford White on the left started to leak from the bottom of the tank even though it was one year newer than the tank on the right. Generally the second tank will leak sooner than the first when installed in series. The water pressure was 100 psi and the PRV may have been restricting backflow.
New AO Smith installed in place of the two tanks. The PRV was also bad and was replaced during the water heater install. There was also a thermal expansion tank installed.
1 year ago
The old water heater was 22 years old and leaking slowly from the bottom of the tank. The water heater was under 96 lbs of water pressure and was on a closed system. The water pressure was high due to the failed PRV. Other water pressure readings in the neighborhood show that the water pressure was not always that high.
AO Smith water heater installed along with thermal expansion tank and new PRV. The line for the humidifier was also replaced with a full brass body compression valve which was also lead free. The water pressure was set to 75 psi and the expansion tank was also set to 75 psi.
1 year ago
The old water heater had an improper connection on the flue. Instead of a 5x4 Y, the flue was cut and the water heater vent was shoved into the opening. The expansion tank on this water heater had also failed and was full of water.
New thermal expansion tank installed along with AO Smith hot water heater.
1 year ago
The old water heater was a Whirlpool that was a little more than 11 years old. The gas valve had malfunctioned and was overheating the water to a scalding hot temperature. Eventually the water heater would kick off all together and the pilot would have to be relit.
New AO Smith installed on this open system. Gas shutoff was replaced and installed above the flexible supply line for the gas.
1 year ago
Another 20 year electric Bradford White water heater finally needing replacement.
New AO Smith electric water heater installed. PRV was more than 20 years old as well and no longer necessary with water pressure below 80.
1 year ago
The old State was installed by the builder only 8 years prior. The house also had a check valve in the water meter, very common for homes built in Piper between 2002-2015. We advised homeowner to contact BPU to have it removed, they removed it the next day.
New AO Smith installed, prv replaced, and expansion tank added.
1 year ago
The old Bradford White water heaters lasted less than expected at 13 years. The first water heater actually had pilot issues and the second tank was leaking. When multiple water heaters are installed in the same house the lifespan tends to be shorter.
Old flue, gas line, and water lines capped off and went back to a more practical single tank. Water pressure was about 70 psi and on an open system. Hopefully the new tank lasts 15-20 years.
1 year ago
The old water heater was on a closed loop system and did not have a thermal expansion tank. There was also a water softener that was installed and probably attributed to the short lifespan of the water heater. This tank would have likely lasted an additional 5-7 years without the softener.
AO Smith GCR model replaced the Bradford White and a thermal expansion tank was installed. Also installed new water shutoff valve. Pressure Reducing Valve was easily accessible so that was replaced also.
1 year ago
The old Bradford White water heater had performed well for 15 years and was finally leaking from the top of the tank. The PRV was still working but will be monitored over the future years.
New AO Smith GCR water heater installed along with thermal expansion tank. Expansion tank inflated to 75 psi and new shutoffs installed.
1 year ago
This rare RUUD tank was classified as a Rheem although we have considered giving Ruud their own category. The homeowner had replaced the ignitor twice and gas control valve once over the past ten years.
A new AO Smith Power Vent model was installed.
1 year ago
The water pressure was under 80 psi. The top of the Bradford White water heater was domed, indicating thermal expansion. The PRV was suspected to have restricted backflow. Instead of replacing the PRV and installed a thermal expansion tank, the PRV was just removed and they reverted back to an open system.
New AO Smith GCR higher efficiency and heavier tank installed in place of a 17 year old Bradford White tank. The saddle valve for the humidifier was also removed and replaced with a full port angle stop.
1 year ago
The old water heater was leaking from the bottom of the tank and was replaced with an AO Smith.
The AO Smith water heater installed was a GCR50400 which is a higher efficiency unit that weighs 17 lbs more than a standard GCG.
1 year ago
The old water heater had worked well for over 20 years and was replaced due to the basement carpet being replaced.
The incoming water pressure was only 70 psi and a PRV was installed. The homeowner had the option to replace the PRV and install a thermal expansion tank or just to remove the PRV since it wasn't really needed. They opted to remove the PRV and run an open system.
1 year ago
The old water heater was replace due to a leak in the tank.
New AO Smith installed and new shutoffs put in place.
1 year ago
The old water heater had the pilot go out when the gas was turned off. The water heater would not start back up when the homeowner tried to get it going.
The water pressure was about 100 psi due to a failed PRV. The new pressure reducing valve was installed and a thermal expansion tank was also put in.
1 year ago
The Rheem water heater had been going out for the past year after the tank would heat up the pilot would go out. Another plumber came out and replaced the thermocouple but it was most likely the gas valve that was causing the pilot to go out.
Upon arrival it was clear that the old flue for the existing water heater had worn thin and had several holes. The flue pipe was replaced all the way to the double wall section. The water pressure was also high due to a failed PRV. The pressure reducing valve was replaced and a thermal expansion tank was installed.
1 year ago
Leaking gas valve. We installed this tank less than a year ago and the customer smelled gas. We came out and determined it was the gas valve and replaced it free of charge.
1 year ago
This is one of the early tanks made by US Craftsmaster. This was before they started making water heater for Whirlpool. This company is owned by American who is owned by AO Smith.
A new pressure reducing valve installed along with thermal expansion tank. New shutoffs also installed and pressure was reduced from high levels.
1 year ago
This water heater was installed in a KCK home where a check valve has been installed in the water meter by BPU. They have had multiple plumbing problems related to high water pressure. The PRV had also failed causing excessive pressure.
New water heater installed along with thermal expansion tank. This tank was under a lot of pressure and lasted only 10 years which is a little below average, even for a Rheem.
1 year ago
The old water heater just wasn't producing enough hot water and finally had to be replaced with a 50 gallon tank.
New GCR50400 AO Smith model more efficient than old water heater. The main shutoff for the house was also replaced during the installation.
1 year ago
This is a water heater that was in a room that was lacking makeup air. When the ac would run it would on occasion cause the water heater to backdraft.
New water heater installed in the garage made for a quick replacement. Anytime you can back right up to the water heater being replaced and don't have steps it makes for an easy install.
1 year ago
These GE water heaters with a 9 year warranty had a lifespan of 15 years which is about the average lifespan for all water heaters. The old tanks had leaked from the top and from the relief valve. These tanks had lower output and were overkill for this home's needs.
New GCR 50 400 installed along with a tempering valve to increase hot water production when needed. The old flue, gas line, and water connections were removed and a single heater was installed to replace two tanks.
1 year ago
Old water heater was one of the old Craftmaster tanks that later were manufactured for Whirlpool. One of the oldest tanks of this variety. The old tank was under about 100 pounds of water pressure after the PRV had gone bad.
New AO Smith water heater installed with thermal expansion tank and new PRV.
1 year ago
Old water heater was not producing nearly enough hot water. Likely due to sediment in the tank or a gas valve failure.
New AO Smith GCG50400 installed along with new shutoff valve for the gas and water supply. There was also a new flue installed to safely vent the water heater.
1 year ago
Old water heater had started to leak out of the TP or pressure relief valve. This is something that can be repaired but given the age of the water heater the homeowner opted to replace the tank.
New AO Smith installed along with new gas shutoff valve. The valve for the humidifier was also replaced.
1 year ago
Old water heater appeared to be leaking from the bottom of the tank. Later it was discovered that the water was coming from the furnace vent.
New water heater installed along with new shutoff valves.
1 year ago
Old water heater had leaked from the bottom and top of the tank.
New AO Smith installed along with Amtrol thermal expansion tank.
1 year ago
Bradford White water heaters installed 11 years ago when the house was first built. These 40 gallon gas water heaters were installed in series. The second water heater started to leak and caused the pilot to extinguish.
Two AO Smith GCR 50 400 Higher Efficiency gas water heaters installed to replace the old tanks. The piping was cut out and replaced to establish a parallel system. The parallel setup for multiple water heaters will maximize performance and will also allow you to shut down one of the units while still providing hot water.
1 year ago
Old water heater in dentist office had been leaking from the bottom of the tank. Luckily the unit below was vacant and the water didn\'t do any damage.
New water heater was installed with a pan to catch any future leaks. A thermal expansion tank was installed and inflated to 85 psi.
1 year ago
Old water heater was still working fine other than a small gas leak from the gas valve.
New water heater was installed and the drip leg was repaired. A new gas shutoff was also installed.
2 years ago
Replace an old hot water tank that had issues with the pilot.
AO Smith hot water heater was installed along with Amtrol thermal expansion tank. This house was piped in CPVC which is always a unique challenge when connecting to.
2 years ago
Replace tank that was leaking from the bottom.
Install new AO Smith water heater and thermal expansion tank as required by code.
2 years ago
Replace a leaking that had been backdrafting.
Install short 40 gallon water heater to prevent carbon monoxide.
2 years ago
Replace leaking tank that had finally started to leak from the bottom.
Install new AO Smith water heater along with thermal expansion tank.
2 years ago
Replace leaking tank that was under high water pressure.
Install new AO Smith and an Amtrol thermal expansion tank.
2 years ago
Replace leaking tank after lifespan was shortened by the water softener. This house had ran potassium instead of salt yet still had a short life.
Install new water heater and thermal expansion tank.
2 years ago
Old hot water tank was leaking from the bottom which was likely due to the water quality as shown by the large amount of sediment in the tank. The horizontal run on the flue for the old water heater was greater than 75% of the total height. It was also undersized since the high efficiency furnace had been installed.
Install power vent water heater to keep the house within code.
2 years ago
Replace water heater that had a venting issue causing a backdraft. The flue was reworked to take out the low spot.
Install new AO Smith water heater and thermal expansion tank.
2 years ago
Replace leaking tank in which the flue was overspan causing the water heater to backdraft.
Install new AO Smith closer to the flue. A flue liner had been installed so the water lines and gas line just had to be moved to the new location.
2 years ago
Replace tank after issues with pilot.
Install new AO Smith water heater and add thermal expansion tank.
2 years ago
Replace a leaking tank that was on a closed system due to a check valve in the water meter.
Install AO Smith and hard pipe gas line as well as add a thermal expansion tank.
2 years ago
Replace two water heaters that had both stopped producing hot water.
Installed two AO Smith energy efficient hot water heaters.
2 years ago
Replace tank due to leak from the piping above the water heater. The leak was from the piping but ended up doing enough damage to require replacement of the hot water heater.
Install new State 50 gallon gas water heater.
2 years ago
This is one of the oldest water heaters we have ever replaced. Usually this area has a short water heater life expectancy due to the hard water deposits in the area.
Install new GCG 50 400 which is a similar model to the old hot water tank.
2 years ago
Replace leaking hot water tank that had an extremely short lifespan due to the water softener that was installed.
Install new GCR 40 400 AO Smith hot water heater along with a bonding clamp to reduce the negative impact that a water softener will have when paired with copper supply lines.
2 years ago
Old hot water heater not producing enough hot water likely due to sediment. There was also a backdraft issue witht the venting losing slope on the old water heater.
Install new State Select and rework the existing flue to increase the slope of the new, taller hot water heater.
2 years ago
Replace a non firing water heater.
Install new Bradford White and elevated water heater to prevent damage in case of water in basement.
2 years ago
Replace a leaking water heater.
Install 50 gallon AO Smith.
2 years ago
Replace electric tank. The elements kept throwing the breaker on this tank, the homeowner replaced the elements and the thermostats for this tank and it just threw the breaker again.
After further investigation the inside of the tank had been flaking away and pieces of metal were floating around inside the tank causing the breaker to trip. Installed new 50 gallon Electric water heater along with a new supply line for a fridge. Main shutoff valve was also leaking which was replaced with a new valve. Also repaired a leaking outside faucet by replacing the washer.
2 years ago
Replaced flexible supply lines and installed new shutoffs.
Installed GCG50400 water heater by AO Smith.
2 years ago
Water Heater had no pilot. Likely the pilot assembly that needed replaced. There was a tremendous amount of sediment inside this water heater which may have contributed to the early failure.
Installed GCG 50 400 AO Smith. Installed new shutoff and drip leg on gas line.
2 years ago
Pilot would stay on but burner kept going out after a few hours. Lots of sediment inside tank. Also discovered negative pressure creating a backdraft.
New AO Smith GCG50400 water heater installed.